The goal for any health and fitness plan is to just keep on track. Set realistic expectations of yourself and by all means do not jump off the deep end and jump into some crazy CrossFit style of workout boot camp hell to get a jump start on the new you. Some of us may indeed be cut out for this type of workout and others of us are definitely not, especially those of us just beginning to exercises in the Prime Male age group.

Keep in mind that its not just the intensity of these type of workouts that worries experts. It’s the fact you’re doing technically complex lifts for high reps in a state of fatigue, when form is guaranteed to break down. “It takes time to perfect certain movements, especially the Olympic lifts,” says trainer Joe Dowdell, founder of Peak Performance in New York. “Not spending enough time teaching people how to perform these movements correctly is dangerous.”

So it’s quality over quantity and proper form is a must in any fitness regimen. It’s no secret that I am a big proponent of Pilates and for good reason. When I was turning 50 I decided to do something I had never done before and participate in a ‘sprint’ triathlon. Although swimming was not my best endeavor I managed to get through all three segments and 4 months of training with not one injury – and I owe that to my consistent Pilates practice both before and during my time in training. It’s all about being balanced in everything that you do.

